Gov. Okowa Inaugurates Ogba As Head Of 17 Man LOC For 2018 African Senior Athletics Competition


Delta State Governor, Mr. Ifeanyi Okowa has inaugurated a 17 man Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the 2018  African Senior Athletics Competition with Mr. Solomon Ogba as Chairman.

Okowa while inaugurating the committee Monday, in his office, Asaba, described sports as a unifying factor especially, among the youths as it engages their energy, ensure peace among them and boosts tourism.

“Delta State is the home of sports, we just concluded the 6th Delta State Sports Festival a few days ago and the final of the Principal’s Cup is coming up soon; sports is one thing that can unite the people, it engages the youths who will win laurels for the state and the nation and bring peace to the state”, he said, adding, “sports being a unifying factor, will unite our youths and encourage tourism potentials of our state.”

The Governor however reiterated his administration’s commitment to ensuring a successful hosting of the championship saying, that “The inauguration of the LOC is to ensure early planning and preparation for the championship. We are on course to host a successful championship as the LOC has experienced and seasoned sports administrators to organise the competition.” and used the occasion to congratulate the members of the LOC on their appointment.

Responding on behalf of members of the committee, chairman of the 17 man LOC for the 2018  African Senior Athletics Competition with Mr. Solomon Ogba, explained that the 2018 African Senior Athletics Competition would bring world class African athletes to the state, as the championship will serve as a basis for the selection of African athletes for the world championship.

Ogba assured that his committee would organise a successful championship that would be remembered for a long time.

Members of the committee are, Mr. Tonobok Okowa; Mrs Hauwa Akinyemi; Mr. Clement Ofuani; Mr. Omatseye Neisama; Mr Kayode Thomas; Mrs Nneka Anibeze; Mr Chris Anazieh; Mr Victor Onogagmue; Mr Olumibe Bamiduro; and Mr. Ken Anugweje.

Others are Mrs. Queen Uboh; Mr. Yusf Alli; Mr. Seigha Porbeni; Mr. Falilat Ogunkoya; Representative of Nilayo Sports Marketing Company and Mr. Akawo Amechi who will serve as Secretary to the committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here