Okowa Sends Names Of Commissioners Designate To Assembly, Includes “Corrupt” Ukah


Delta state Governor, Ifeanyi Okowa has sent names of commissioner nominees including “conspicuous corrupt” former embattled information commissioner, Patrick Ukah to the State House of Assembly.

The names of the nominees were read on the floor of the house Tuesday by the Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori at the first plenary of the 7th Assembly of the House after its proclamation by the governor.

The eight nominees who have been directed to appear for screening on Thursday this week include, the embattled corrupt former information commissioner, Patrick Ukah, former political adviser to the governor, Festus Ochonogor, former deputy speaker, Basil Ganagana, Mrs. Florence Alanta, former works commissioner, James Auguoye, former attorney general and commissioner for justice, Peter Mrakpor, former lands and survey commissioner, Chika Ossai and a one time commissioner for education, Patrick Muoboghare.

It would be recalled that Ukah was enmeshed in a fraud running into several millions of naira in Delta Broadcasting Service (DBS), Asaba and the Pointer Newspapers during his first tenure reign as information commissioner.

The embattled former information commissioner was said to have used the state owned Delta Broadcasting Service, Asaba and Warri as well and the state owned Newspapers, The Pointer to loot millions of naira from the coffers of the ministry through frivolous contracts he was said to have awarded to some of his cronies without any traceable addresses of such contractors.

It was gathered that embattled Ukah, had lied in some official documents in his hand over note presented to the state transition committee.

In the documents, according to an impeccable source close to the transition committee, Ukah, lied that he purchased eight cameras at the cost of N18,721,738.00 for Delta Broadcasting Service, Asaba and Warri, purchased some equipment for Delta Broadcasting Service, Asaba and Warri at the cost of N9,654,750.00, repaired the FM coxial feeder line at Delta Broadcasting Service, Warri at the cost of N16,620,000.00, purchased some equipment for Delta Broadcasting Service at N11,553,750.00.

In the documents, Ukah, also lied to have carried out the repairs of the back-up transmitters at Delta Broadcasting Service, Asaba, Ubulu-Uku and Warri at the cost of N43,000,000.00, Mast tensioning, painting and repairs of Delta Broadcasting Service, Asaba at the cost of N11,150,000.00, installation of antenna and repairs of TV transmitters at the cost of N57,240,000.00, brief to Governor Ifeanyi Okowa on the 2017 flood disaster in Delta Broadcasting Service, Asaba and restoration of the station back to air at the cost of N17,000,000.00, repairs of faulty back up transmitters at Delta Broadcasting Service, Asaba, Ubulu-Uku and Warri at the cost of N68,380,000.00.

READ ALSO: http://hardreporters.com/delta-information-commissioner-loots-ministry-treasury-in-millions-of-naira-scandal-buys-8-cameras-for-dbs-at-n18-million/

The house also approved the governor’s request for appointment of fifteen Special Advisers in line with session 196, subsection one of the constitution of federal republic of Nigeria.

The approval followed the unanimous adoption of a motion to that effect by the deputy speaker, Ocho Ocho.

According to the governor, the appointment of the Special Advisers is to assist him in performance of certain executive functions as governor of the State.

In another development, the 7th Delta State House of Assembly has been fully constituted with the appointments of the principal officers of the house.

The appointments were made by the two political parties in the state, the People’s Democratic Party, (PDP) and All Progressive Party, APC which have their members in the house.

The PDP returned the member representing Isoko North, Tim Owhefere and the member representing Bomadi constituency, Oboro Preyor as Majority Leader and Deputy Majority Leader of the house.

Also returned is Pat Ajudua as the Chief Whip of the house, while Solomon Ighrakpata, Uvwie constituency and Festus Okoh, Ika South were named Deputy Chief Whip and Majority Whip respectively.

For the two APC opposition seats in the house, the member representing Ethiope East, Innocent Anidi was named Minority leader, while the member representing Ughelli North 11 constituency, Moses Anaughe is the Minority Whip.

The appointments were announced during Tuesday’s plenary by the Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori who also congratulated them for their choice by the political parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here